Career Advice: Ignore Everything Everyone Ever Told You

On test one, I gave the example of Gary Vaynerchuk as an example of a sensor in regard to personality types.  Gary is an industry leader and thought leader because he hustles and is not afraid to say what he believes.

gary-vaynerchukAs a college student nearing the end of your college career, you have probably received a ton of advice – from your parents, teachers, advisers, etc.  Gary’s advice is to ignore a lot of the advice you have received.  In his speech to NYC interns, he delivers a 20 minute career presentation that probably is unlike any advice you have ever been given.  Take a look at the video, and ask yourself a few questions:

1. Do you agree with Gary’s advice and positioning for soon to be graduates?

2. Do you think you have been given bad advice in the past in regard to your career and your future?

3. Did the video change the way you think about your future career and goals?  Why?

4. What are your career goals?  What do you want to achieve in the next 3-4 years?

Leave comments below and we can discuss next class.

Chris Lovett

9 thoughts on “Career Advice: Ignore Everything Everyone Ever Told You”

  1. I absolutely agree with Gary’s advice and point of view. To take these next 3-4 years and just do what you love and not waste your time is the best advice I have ever heard. Although I completely agree with his advice, I don’t know how realistic it is. I would love to graduate college in a little over a year and then just do what I love. In the future I would love to get involved in international business and be able to work for a multinational corporation. Ideally, I would love to travel the world first and be able to experience different cultures before I got involved into the actual business because experience in my opinion is everything. Especially for a field like international business, how are you supposed to market or sell certain products in another country when you don’t really know about that culture and country. You can read as many books and articles that you want to but you will never be able to know some of the things within that culture until you experience them first hand.

    I don’t think necessarily I have been given bad advice toward my career and my future because most of the advice I have been given is just more the harsh reality of the future. As much as I don’t want to hear what I have heard I know that I wouldn’t have the future aspirations that I have without that advice. Since I do want to get into international business I know that it is not something that you just walk right into and I have learned that from people in the field. With a job inside the international business field it is more of a job that you want to be in the industry for a little while to make sure you thoroughly know the products and that way you are able to successfully acknowledge people in other countries about those products. I could honestly say if someone was to offer me my ideal job right out of college, I don’t know if I would take it. I know I would love to take it but at the same time would I be the best I could be at that time? Probably not. It would probably be more stressful of a job then a rewarding job.

    I definitely think the video has some impact on my future goals and careers just because Gary is so realistic and passionate about what he is talking about so how would you not want to listen to what he has to say? But in the end it all comes down to realistically would I be able to do what I love to do in the next 3 to 4 years? Traveling is probably my biggest passion within my life and I honestly don’t think for me it would be ideal and realistic to do that for the next 3 to 4 years, I don’t have the money or the resources to travel as much as I would want to. I can say from this video though I will take bits and pieces of it and apply it to my life. I can say that when I am given the opportunity to travel I will take it. In the next 3 to 4 years I would ideally want to travel to as many places that I could. Internationally and within the United States. I think it is very hard if you aren’t as much as a sensor as Gary though to really whole-heartily do what you absolutely want to do in the next couple years of your life. But then again like he said right now we are the ones with the time and he is the one with the money and you don’t know want to be that person towards the end of your life saying you wish you would have done this and that so who knows what my future has in store.

  2. 1. Do you agree with Gary’s advice and positioning for soon to be graduates?
    I think that his advice and positioning for such a big part of our lives is a new way to look towards our future. I absolutely agree with his advice. There is no better time to explore what we are passionate about then our early years, our years where we are responsible for no one but ourselves. I believe that Gary understands what if you find something you are passionate about then success will follow. However, for many people it may be hard to follow Gary’s great advice just because it is not what we are trained to do.
    2. Do you think you have been given bad advice in the past in regard to your career and your future?
    It is not that we have been trained with bad advice, it is just safe advice. It is what your everyday John Smith aspires to do. We are told that we can provide for ourselves and others by sitting at a desk from nine to five. It is not because they don’t want us to succeed at something they love it is because they do not want to see us fail. However, I believe that takes us directly back to what Gary believes, if we do something we love success will follow.
    3. Did the video change the way you think about your future career and goals? Why?
    As for my future career and goals I believe that I am on track with where my heart is and where my head is. The video encouraged me to do what I love and be in a place that allows you to grow and do something you are passionate about. I absolutely love my internship and I have a boss who encourages me to go in my own direction and do things I love. This video did not change how I am living but inspires me to continue on the track I am on.
    4. What are your career goals? What do you want to achieve in the next 3-4 years?
    My career goal is to find something I absolutely love and work my hardest to show others why I love it. Therefore, I am not necessarily looking to work for a marketing firm where I am one of thousands, but find a start-up company that I am passionate about and work my hardest to find success as a company and as an individual.

  3. 1. I love that Gary is so adamant and focused on people doing what they love. I definitely agree with living modestly and within your means, being practical for a while. Especially with impending student loans, I know personally once I graduate I’m going to be laying low for good amount of time while I get myself together. But focusing on finding what your passionate it about is fantastic.

    2. In terms of career advice, I listen to my professors more than anything. But when I vent to, say, my parents, I don’t know if the advice has been bad as much as unhelpful. My mom got her associate’s nursing degree in the 80’s and has been very successful. But she’s never had to make a resume in her life and interviews have been more of a formality than anything else. She openly states that she doesn’t “get” what my major is and what I want to do. My dad’s career advice revolves around what’s going to get me to move back home and stay there after graduation, so it’s biased and ultimately unsatisfying.

    3. The video absolutely changed the way I think about my future. I asked myself what I loved enough that I could make that into my career and it scared me because I can’t think of something I enjoy that much. What do I spend most of my time and energy doing? Homework. Attempting a social life. Loading myself up on caffeine. Keeping in touch with friends and family back home. Watching Netflix during what little down time have. What do I wish I could do more of? Travel. Go to Pens games. But I don’t think I could honestly say that I am passionate enough about any one of those things that I could spend a career on them and not get bored. Before the video, I had a vague idea of what I wanted to do. Now I have no clue.

    4. What I want is to pay off my student loans and make good money doing communications or marketing work in the area of sports or entertainment. I think my dream career would be getting paid to travel and see the world. It’s a bit of a conundrum because I don’t like being away from my friends and family for too long, yet being around people for extended periods of time is also very draining. So it gets to that point where I have to make a decision – do I want to travel or not? Do I want to spend lots of time at home or not? Is there such a thing as a happy medium? Ultimately I’ll never be able to have both. So after talking myself in circles, what are my career goals? Specifically, I don’t know. What do I want to achieve? I don’t know. I think I just want to be happy.

  4. 1. I can’t agree more on Gary’s advice by following our own heart. As we all know, nothing can be more valuable than time itself. We have a long life looking for a great career, a true lover, a good amount of money, but we can never get back the time flies by. As every other young college graduates, I definitely agree that we should spend some time to seriously think about how we want to live the rest of our lives. Although this might not sound practical for everyone especially those who have tough background to support, it’s worth to keep it in our mind and keep reminding ourselves that once an opportunity came we should catch it. During this period of young age, we would be able to sacrifice lots of things in order to achieve a “stupid” dream in other’s opinion. We have the passion and ambitious to dare a bet we might not regret. And as time goes by when we getting older, you might start thinking of marriage, family, kids, all other different issues that might distract your full concern on the only thing that you want to achieve in your life. Thus as we still have the time and chance to think about how should we live our lives, we should take the thought seriously.

    2. I don’t think I have been given any bad advice, I just think it’s hard for every advice to be helpful and practical enough to fulfill what I was looking for. I listen to my parents, professors and all other experienced people around me a lot. Although they have different advice from different standards, they just what to help us to be successful. It might seems little boring for me to hear the routine kind of advice all the time. I understand everyone who cares about me just want me to have a “successful career” as they do, but different generations are living and affecting by different things. As the massive affect by Internet and social media which older generations do not have the chance to experience, it’s hard to follow the definition of success just from their opinions. What they achieve in the past could not guarantee our future success, and what they never think of doing does not guarantee failure. Just listen to people and keep your own thoughts, combine the parts that suit you and make the best solution for yourself.

    3. Not really changing my way of thinking career goals. I’m always thinking I’m on the right track to achieve what I want to be. I understand big success is build step by step. I’m not knowledgeable and skilled enough to achieve what I want to be yet, but I’m definitely learning every aspect I needed right now.

    4. It’s hard to define my career goal right now because I really don’t have a clear vision so far. I’m still looking for what I might enjoy doing and what industry I might be willing to spend a huge amount of time in it. I’m still in the stage looking for changes and developments. One thing is for sure, I don’t want a boring career. I want to de different no matter if I’m going to sell a product or service or anything else. What I do what to achieve in the coming years is to gain as much knowledge and experience as I can in order to help me to build a stronger base to support whatever I want to be for the rest of my life.

  5. Do I agree with his advice? I would say yes and no. I think what he had to say was awesome. I’m glad I saw the video. It is very inspiring to listen to what he said. I think he is write, but I also think other advice isn’t wrong. To throw away all the advice you have ever gotten is not smart, but to go after the one thing you love is great advice.

    I think I have been given good and bad advice. I also believe I have followed as well as ignored both good and bad advice. I am having trouble answering this question because there are hundreds of opinions and advice givers that you can’t listen to them all. The one piece of advice I wish I followed closer was that it’s not all about yourself. You don’t have to be good at everything, and you are allowed to lean on others to help strengthen your weaknesses. This is a good piece of advice that I want to work on while also strengthening myself from within.

    I believe the video did change the way I view my future. It is very hard for me to see my future at this point. Although I know the sky is the limit and my career is an open book at this point It is hazy, and hard to know what way to go. He speaks with a passion of take what you truly love more than anything and try to make that your career. That and the 50 month window puts into perspective that you can shape your life in the next few years to be something that you love every day of your life. It makes the future a little clearer.

    My career goals a year a go would have been to be playing professional baseball. I gave my heart, and soul to playing the game for four years. Now I have to refocus, and find what I can do that I can make a career out of. I believe the answer stays the same for me just in a different light. I want to work in the baseball industry. I want to be at the field on game days, and be a part of a successful organization. In 3-4 years I would like to be working in brand marketing for a major league team.

  6. While I agree with Gary’s advice, I am not sure that I am sold on it. I agree that young adults should discover what it is they love and are passionate about and work towards achieving a career that involves just that. However, it does seem, in part, unrealistic. After graduating, I financially will be completely on my own. While watching the video I pictured myself after graduating college. I could either do ultimately what I would love to do, which would involve traveling, or find a job to keep me financially stable for a while. I think it is necessary to find something to be passionate about and pursue that as a career though. Often when I tell people what I study in college they are confused and do not understand; however, I picked to study it because it was something I am passionate about.

    I do not think I have been given bad advice per say. I will admit that the advice I receive from my parents is far different from the advice Gary gave. My parents encourage me to start looking for jobs and opportunities now before I graduate so when I do I will have some kind of job. Gary mentioned how drastically different the world is now, so he was right when he said the advice he is giving is totally different than someone older will give. When thinking about the advice I have received from people about careers, I never once had someone who did not stress to do something you love and are passionate about.

    The video did in fact change the way I think about my future career and goals. I have a year of school left before I graduate so now is the time to start preparing for what happens after graduation. I have always had three options in my head – graduate and continue working, go to grad school, or what I was highly encouraged to do my a Professor at Point Park and what I ultimately would love to do, travel. Gary’s advice now has me more than ever questioning my plans after I graduate.

    I can honestly at this point say I do not know what my career goals are for the next 3-4 years. Depending on the route I take, my career goals would be either to have a decent job that I enjoy, going to graduate school, or traveling by teaching English abroad. Wherever I do end up, as long as I am happy and feel good about where I am at, then I will have met my career goal.

  7. I agree with his advice as far as doing something that you love, but I’m not sure how realistic it is to most of us especially when student loan repayments begin. A smart guy named Confucius said “Chose a job you love and you will never work a day in your life.” So Gary isn’t the first person I have heard this from and probably won’t be the last. That in its self is everyone’s dream, to get paid to do what one loves to do. He is obviously a very intelligent and successful guy, but I think his advice is more life advice than career advice.

    Yes, I believe our generation has been brainwashed into the belief that if you work hard and go to school, you will get a job after you graduate and become successful. That’s not necessarily the case these days at all. The harsh reality is that you aren’t guaranteed anything after you graduate. I have received some quality advice from some of my professors in the past and have tried to apply it to my present. As far as school goes, neither of my parents have college educations, so they usually can’t offer much advice. The one thing my dad does tell me is that “It’s not about what you know; it’s about who you know.”

    I don’t think it made me change my goals, but it did give me a little bit of motivation to continue on the plan that I have laid out for myself. I will however continue to think about what I am passionate about and try to make that into a successful career.

    My career goals are to eventually obtain my MBA and become a successful businessman. Right now, I’m not sure if that will be my own business or a job at a small company, but I know it will not be for a large corporation like the one I work for now. This question really makes me think because I am in a different position than most, I am already 25 and work full time plus go to school full time and in 3-4 years I will be almost 30, man that’s scary. If you would have asked me back in 2010 if I thought I was going to be graduating from Point Park with my bachelor’s degree in 2014 I would have called you crazy, but here I am so the sky really is the limit. In the next 3-4 years I would love to have my MBA, a successful career, and start working on a family. This year I have a lot of decisions to make as far as if I continue straight through and start grad school and work while going to grad school for another 2 years which will probably be even harder than balancing work and school is now, whether to quit my job and move away from Pittsburgh and try the accelerated one year MBA route, or to just try to get a job after I graduate and worry about grad school later.

  8. 1. Do you agree with Gary’s advice and positioning for soon to be graduates?
    I agree with Gary to an extent. Finding what you love and what you are passionate about is the part I definitely agree on. There is no better time than now when we are young to focus on finding what we truly love. Making that passion your career is where I slightly disagree (because I don’t find it realistic). If you can make a career out of what you love more than anything in life then more power to you. But for most of us it’s not that easy. I think it’s more about finding a job you believe in and a job that makes you feel worthy. Unfortunately, going to school, getting good grades, finding an internship, and then a career is the safest road to follow because; eating chicken nugs with your buddies will never earn you 100k a year.
    2. Do you think you have been given bad advice in the past in regard to your career and your future?
    No, not really. I’ve gotten advice similar to Gary’s and advice that is quite opposite. I mostly listen to my professors. Since I started at Point Park I learned a lot about life, myself, and who I want to become.
    3. Did the video change the way you think about your future career and goals? Why?
    No, I am already a huge advocate of “do what makes you happy”. I currently manage my time tremendously so I can do the things I love. Family, friends, traveling, and working, four things I focus on now and four things I never want to lose focus of.
    4. What are your career goals? What do you want to achieve in the next 3-4 years?
    I hope to have gained so much knowledge on what it is I want to do exactly. My goal is to be successful and happy. My goal is not to be stuck in a job because I feel like there is no other choice. As long as I am honestly happy with what I am doing then I’ll be able to say I’ve met my career goal.

  9. 1. I do highly agree with his advice however, agreeing with Chris, I also think his advice is more geared towards life. Finding what you love and doing that for the rest of your life would be an incredible opportunity, but I’m not sure if that is possible for all of us. I also disagree on the whole, “forget everything everyone has told you” thing. I believe you should absorb all advice from everyone, but it is up to you to sort through what you think is the most important. Going along with Gary, i believe in finding a practical career that you don’t totally hate that keeps you financially stable. Then you can live out your dream in the form of a hobby.

    2. I can’t say that I’ve received bad advice regarding my career path, however, when people explain the reality of the business world I often double think my major. Like I said before, I’ve received a lot of advice from those before me, and i just sort of sort through what i think is worth remembering and what is just rants and raves.

    3. The video definitely made me rethink where I’m headed and how I’m getting there. I think what I really need to do find a fine line between what I enjoy doing and what I do that pertains too my future. Too much of either can definitely have a negative effect on the other.

    4. My current career goals are to find an internship this summer with one of the big 4 accounting firms. However, I’m a little nervous since it’s already March and I’ve barely been looking. I plan on graduating in 2015 and securing a job with a major accounting firm. I have yet to decide what specific department I would like to work in. I definitely want to move out of Pittsburgh, at least for a little bit, so searching for an internship or job in a diverse, upscale city would be optimal.

Leave a Reply

